March 4, 2011

I have been working with the Paintstiks the last few days.  I love them!  They are so easy to use even a five year old can do it.  Actually, he was begging me to let him do it – he likes them too.

I decided to decorate a plain hooded sweatshirt.  The only thing I don’t like is that you have to wait 3-5 days for the Paintstik to dry before you can heat set it and move on with your next task, which in my case is embellishing but it could also be cutting your fabric and making it into a quilt block.  The 3-5 days is really not a big deal, I’m just impatient.  Here is how it started: 

On the front, I’ve got a butterfly and two flowers on each side of the zipper.  The center back features a dragonfly with a butterfly on each shoulder.  I want to add some green and silver accents around and maybe something on the sleeves.  After that I think that the flowers will each need a button center.  I can’t wait till it is done!  It is so much fun to create something that is unique and special.

In February,  I took Kyle on a school trip and a couple of days before we went I realized that I didn’t have a tote bag with a zipper top to keep everything in.  I knew it was going to be a long day and we would need to have everything from snacks to the precious “blankie”.  A solution was quickly found with a great pattern from Lazy Girl Designs called the Margo Handbag.  Margo is a great size plus it has the coolest way to install a zipper!  (It has been a huge hit in classes, too.)  I quickly found a fabric and started in on my new bag.  It didn’t take long and my new bag was ready.  The original Margo has a great front pocket but with my fabric choice, I decided to leave it off.  I also used nylon webbing for my handles instead of fabric.  And so I was sure I didn’t loose my car keys somewhere, I put a swivel hook in the bottom so I could clip my keys in.  By the way, I  love how every Lazy Girl bag has lots of pockets.  Here are the pictures of my bag.

It was perfect and I received lots of compliments.  I can’t wait for another trip to use it again!

Have a great day and happy crafting!

Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

