June 18th, 2008

Well, we have been knitting, crocheting and sewing- oh my! I have some great new pictures to post and more to come since we have all been hard at work and the UPS man is here many times a week bringing new things. Since I haven’t posted any knitting or crocheting in a while I will start with those. First, I have been crocheting and felting bowls. I had two missions: one, make a penny dish for next to the cash register and two, design and write up a pattern for a crocheted and felted wine bottle cozy. Well, as some of you may know felting with wool yarn is sometimes a bit of an experiment. felted bowl This little coin bowl made with Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky come out slightly bigger than I wanted but all in all I am very happy with it. Now the wine bottle cozy on the other hand, turned out to be a beautiful bowl. In other words, I really made it too big to start with and I felted it just as much as I possibly could. I added a really cool new yarn called Circus, to a wool and silk blend yarn to get this bowl. Circus is a fuzzy yarn and also has little balls of color hanging off it. felted bowl with Circus yarn

I absolutely love the look of this bowl (even though I was aiming for a wine bottle cozy) and I knew when I was making it that I was making it a bit too big around and I should have went back and tore out a row before making the sides. Now I just need to make the wine bottle cozy to match! Great gift idea here!

Vicki just finished a really cool knitted hat. The yarn is Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky and the pattern is from Halfmoon Hallow Designs. Since it is made of bulky yarn with big needles, it knits up quickly and can be made in an evening. There is a wide selection of colors and the new Brown Sheep hand dyed looking yarns. Here’s the hat with Kyle modeling: knitted hat

The 13th and final banner of the month is done. If you purchase all twelve you get the 13th one free. This one is adorable and embellished with lots of buttons. 13th banner You can join our banner of the month club and have the banner kits sent to you each month. Each kit includes pattern, all fabrics for the top as well borders backing, binding and embellishments. Contact us if you have any questions or would like to join our club.

I made a new table runner from a pattern from Maple Island Quilts. It has curved borders and is so much fun. Don’t fret; the curves are not hard to do. I think the bigger and bolder the print for the center, the better it is! wavy table runner

From Blank Textiles we have the Chelsea collection and this cool new bright quilt with geometric flowers. Made with strips and borders with fusible machine applique, it can be completed quickly. Makes for a great size for a student going off to collage. Chelsea quilt

Fabric ink Christmas ornaments Deb just finished these great Christmas ornaments from Susie C. Shore designs. They are colored with the fabric inks and are as cute as a button and couldn’t be easier. Add trim and embellishments and you have a wonderful gift for co-workers or a newly married couple. The fabric inks are fun and it is just like coloring in a coloring book such a wonderful and relaxing activity.

‘Till next time, happy crafting and remember “All Threads Lead to Paradise!”

Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

